Author Topic: Advice needed  (Read 1816 times)

ITmuppet

Advice needed
« on: August 12, 2015, 10:25:18 pm »
Hi

Please be gentle with me my IT knowledge only extended far enough to use trucrypt. I am just getting started with Diskcryptor.

I installed and encrypted my drive D (see sceenshot). Drive D is where all the data is that I want to encrypt. So to use the data on the encrypted drive I just open up Diskcryptor and enter the password I set to mount the drive for use.

My question is should i encrypt the other drives that you can see on my screenshot? Can someone access the data on my D drive by using the other volumes?

I can see I have drive C - operating system, volume 2 - recovery partition, volume 7 - restore partition, volume 5 - no idea what this is. I am using an Asus laptop with no CD/DVD drive. None of the volumes were marked with the 'boot' label. If one of them was I would have encrypted that.

Please can someone help.

Thanks

ITmuppet

« Last Edit: August 12, 2015, 10:28:31 pm by ITmuppet »

Stack77

Re: Advice needed
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2015, 11:32:46 pm »
I have a similar setup on one of my laptops. It works for me.

C:\  - the system partition is not encrypted. It contains my OS (Windows) and all the program files.

D:\ - the data partition is encrypted with DiskCryptor. My work files and personal information is stored here.

Once you dismount D:\, its contents are fully encrypted. Once D:\ is dismounted, there is no entry point from the other partitions / drives without opening DC and entering your DC password.

The decision to encrypt your other drives is up to you. Many users choose to encrypt C:\ (the system partition) even if no private data is stored there. This is to prevent an attacker from accessing any left-behind configuration files (for example in \User\*\AppData\) that might contain private information after you shut down.

Italick

« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2015, 11:35:32 pm »
Hi.